A big hug and a little slap

You just never know what to expect. Yesterday was a strange day. The day before a couple had come to look at the house. I didn’t take to them. They’d moved 5 times in the last 8 years, and had bought the house they’re in last year, but didn’t like it even when they bought it. I got the impression they were into trying to make a profit out of houses, thought they knew everything there was to know about them, and were in and out in about 15 minutes. Everyone else I’ve had to prise gently out of the place after an hour and a half or so.

However, back to the very pleasing and in my opinion more appropriate response to my house. I know anyone would say this about a loved home, but this place had exactly the same effect on me when I first arrived. It felt as if it wrapped it’s arms around me and said ‘Welcome home’. I’ve never had quite the same feeling about anywhere before, though I do hope I can find somewhere that says something similar. And those who I hope will succeed in buying it feel exactly the same way.

The people who have been twice before came for a third visit. They’d bought me a gift: some crystals that she described the meanings of, why she’d got them for me, and what she felt she was giving me. Whether you have any belief in such matters, the care and intent behind her gift was clear and appreciated. I mentioned that she seemed to do sympathetic magic, which she affirmed. I’d got a little something for them as well.

magic

My gifts

After a potter around and lots of chat they offered me the asking price, dependent on a survey which they wanted to get done in the next few weeks, and the sale of their house. They didn’t want to rent, so they prefer not to put their house on the market unless they have the place they want to go to. They told me that if their purchase of here fell through they’d just take theirs off the market again. They understood that since they hadn’t sold theirs I couldn’t take mine off the market, and we all hoped it would work out between us. We know we have similar principles, aren’t going to try and trick or rip each other off, and are going to behave honourably. That was the big hug. Uplifting, whatever the outcome. There are never any guarantees with house buying and selling, until it’s signed, sealed and delivered.

Later came the little slap. The online agent had asked for feedback from the people the day before. It came in the evening, in the form of a scathing review. All sorts of utter nonsense which was inaccurate or untrue. I got the impression they’d come only to get a feel for the valuation of their place, which wasn’t even on the market yet, since they boasted about having 6 acres of land which meant it would sell in a flash. Not true, since people usually don’t want the hassle of maintaining it. I also got the impression they thought their feedback would be public, like a trip advisor review (which it isn’t, it’s for me and the agent). Assassination in text. What a strange counterpoint. Life sometimes does that, and I’m sure there are lessons in there. I did take one point they made, where they’d seen some growth of moss and muck as a need to replace the roof it was on (maybe a pair of spectacles might be helpful for them), to get a bit of cleaning done in time for the surveyor. It’s funny how upsetting such an unnecessary attack can be though, but I’m over it now.

And so we shall see what this curious process brings next.

Leave a Reply

